Wednesday, 25 February 2015

Magnum PINK Raspberry Review


The Silver Marc De Champagne Magnum's brought out by Uniliver a year ago are consistently amongst the highest viewed posts on this blog - they must be really popular across the world - so I thought it about time I gave these new PINK ones a try since they're currently being highly promoted across most UK supermarkets.

Unilever obviously think the "coloured shell" idea is one that's catching, as they've already done a Gold?! variety which is also still on shelves. There's also a BLACK Espresso variety, but that's just dark chocolate and doesn't make for an exciting colour like pink does...you can just tell these are going to be really popular this year, especially over the Summer months!


Whilst the pearly pink coating is very eye-catching, the flavour is a basic raspberry ice cream with strands of raspberry sauce. It's all coated in milk chocolate and then coated again with the outer pink glaze. The taste is very pleasant and fruity, although considering the novel colour I thought they would have had a much stronger raspberry taste.


Overall, a nice ice cream for sure and one that no doubt many of us will be reaching for over Summer if just for the bright colour...but these could have been better. I actually think a strawberry flavour (or even passionfruit!) would have been nicer, but hey that's just me!

RATING: 7.5 out of 10.

Nutrition Per Ice Cream: 276 Calories, 18g Fat, 26g Carbs, 24g Sugars.
Gluten Free, May contain nuts & sesame. 

Have you tried Magnum PINK Raspberry? If so what did you think? 

Tuesday, 24 February 2015

Tropical Sun Coconut Peanuts, Cream, Milk & Water Review


Many thanks to Tropical Sun for sending me a selection of their coconut products to review recently! As readers of this blog will know I'm a big fan of coconut...I looove coconut butter and regularly use it to make desserts - anything coconut-based and I'm there!

What intrigued me most about these snacks was the combination of coconut and peanuts - it's certainly not a flavour you'll see amongst your average pub peanuts!

Premium Creamed Coconut:

Boasting no artificial colours or preservatives, this is pure coconut cream formed into a block and great for cooking. I don't have any pics of my culinary creations sadly (they tend to get very messy!) but I can report that it made a lovely rich curry! Just melt the block with hot water, add spices, veg etc and it will make a very creamy sauce - much nicer and healthier than vegetable oils often used in curries. Coconut milk is also a source of MCT's (medium chain fats), that get used up by the body much faster than other fats.

100% Natural Coconut Milk:

Again, boasting no artificial colours or additives, this coconut milk makes a change from most store varieties as it doesn't contain any thickeners or e-numbers. Just pure coconut extract and water! I ended up using this to make a coconut milk hot chocolate - just cocoa powder and coconut milk, heated in the microwave for a few minutes. It made a delicious and satisfying cocoa! I would highly recommend it.

Coconut Water:

No artificial flavours or additives here either; this is a lovely refreshing coconut water containing naturally occuring electrolytes. This was a very pleasant thirst-quenching drink.

Crunchy Coconut Peanuts:

Last but not least...the star of the show...coconut peanuts! This is an interesting combination in that peanuts are usually associated with savoury flavours like salt, pepper, spices, etc., but the coconut cream here makes them sweeter and creamier and a bit less savoury. They're still very crunchy and highly moreish, with a softer edge. I'm not sure they'd work with beer but they're certainly a great snack for watching a film with - highly recommended!

Overall:
This is a selection of great quality products from Tropical Sun, the peanuts in particular are such a cool novelty that I would highly recommend trying them if you get the chance! You can check out tropicalsunfoods.com for more info/buying options.

*Products provided for honest review. 

Monday, 23 February 2015

New Snacks! - Kinder Bueno DARK, Walkers Mixups, Hoola Hoops Puft, Thorntons Popcorn..

A few new snacks I've seen in shops recently...

Kinder Bueno DARK (Limited Edition)

These new dark chocolate Kinder Bueno's seem to be a very limited edition - I've only seen them in one Spar store so far. If you've tried one do let me know your thoughts in the comments...

Walkers Mixups Snacks Mix:

Walkers are taking a leaf out of Cadbury's book and combining several different snacks in one bag for their new "Mixups" range. This cheese variety contains Wotsits, Doritos, Monster Munch and French Fries. Spotted at Asda.

There's also a Spicy variety...


Plus a Crisps Mix, with both Cheese and Worcester Sauce Walkers crisps...


Plus Cheese & Bacon flavour...


Hula Hoops Puft Cheese:

Also new in the savoury snacks category are Hoola Hoops Puft, which are a "light and crispy" take on the famous hoop-shaped snacks. I'm not sure about the name...


Of course, they wouldn't be complete without a Salt & Vinegar flavour!


Or Ready Salted!

Thorntons Toffee & White Chocolate Popcorn:

Thorntons have released a new Popcorn range, and this flavour contains their signature toffee combined with white chocolate.


There's also a Toffee & Milk Chocolate variety...


As well as plain Toffee. Have you tried Thorntons Popcorn range? If so let me know your thoughts in the comments! Available at Asda.

The Chocolate Smiths Bizarre Coffee 'n' Cookie Bar:

Whilst in a local department store I spotted this new bar from The Chocolate Smiths...70% dark chocolate with cookies, coffee and orange flavours. Interesting combo!

Steak & Stout in Milk Chocolate:

They're also doing this odd combo of "Steak and Stout" in milk chocolate. I'm not sure if it actually contains steak and/or stout, but knowing those crazy gals it probably does!

Strawberry Champagne in Milk Chocolate:

They're also doing a Queen of Hearts variety, which contains the more palatable combination of Strawberry and Champagne in milk chocolate.

Chip Shop Sauce & Chips in Milk Chocolate:

There's also this Chip Shop Special flavour containing "chip shop style curry sauce and chips in milk chocolate". Possibly a good combination for pregnant women?

Smoked Garlic & Herb in Milk Chocolate:

And what has to be one of the worst ideas for a chocolate bar ever..."smoked garlic and herb in creamy milk chocolate".

Tropical Fruit Punch Chocolate:

And lastly, a more palatable sounding "70% dark chocolate with rum and chunks of sweet tropical fruit". You have to hand it to The Chocolate Smiths...they do like to try out some interesting flavours!

That's it for now...as always do let me know if you spot any new sweets via Twitter or Email, and hopefully I'll be back to the world of blogging in the near future!

Thursday, 5 February 2015

Teapigs Chocolate & Mint Tea (Guest Review by William)


Hello there, it's William here and I'm finally back with a new guest review. Moving away from chocolate (just a tiny bit), I've been wanting to review more teas and other healthier food and drink.

Teapigs is a premium British tea brand that offers a range of different teas that us Brits may not have even heard of before, like their oolong tea and today I have a review for you on one of their most recent new releases.

Around Autumn last year, Teapigs launched a new range of “naturally caffeine free” teas in a range of new and exciting flavours. This particular tea caught my eye whilst shopping in Waitrose so I bought a box of these (and I also bought the Chocolate Flake tea, which I might review soon). Like the Chocolate Flake tea, this tea has real chocolate pieces in the tea “temples” which make the cuppa taste so much better.

Each box contains 15 biodegradable “tea temples” which are mesh bags instead of the traditional paper teabag yet they retain the traditional “bag on the string” brewing mechanism which you usually get with Twinings teas.

The box insists you should brew this for 3 - 5 minutes (I brewed mine for 4 minutes) and not add any sugar or milk.


The scent of the box itself is quite different to the scent of the tea after brewing. The cup has a very strong peppermint scent with a few cocoa notes in there and even though you can't really smell the “chocolate”, it does add a little more sweetness and nuttiness to the tea.


The taste however is incredible. Even though it doesn't taste just like a real mint choc chip ice cream and still has that traditional “tea” flavour, it's still quite a nice cuppa. This doesn't have the strongest chocolate flavour but you can still definitely taste chocolate in there and paired with the mint, it's pleasant but I feel that the mint is slightly overpowering. If there were more chocolate chips in the tea “temple”, this tea would be even better but I still recommend this to all the chocoholics out there.


Overall, I think this is an amazing great-tasting addition to the quirky Teapigs range and I really hope it stays a while because it's probably one of the best chocolate teas out there and beverages like this, I think are amazing for dieting. Whether I'm on a diet or not, I will definitely buy these again when I run out.

Anyway, if you liked this review and you'd like to see more posts from me, head over to my blog: www.moroneywilliam.blogspot.co.uk but I will hopefully be writing guest reviews more frequently on here soon!

RATING: 7.9 out of 10

From: Waitrose.
RRP: £4.15
Weight: 37.5g (15 biodegradable tea temples).
Recommend?: These are ideal for dieters who love their chocolate and are struggling to give it up or just for those who are quite adventurous. If you love chocolate and mint too, I'm sure this will be right up your street!

Friday, 23 January 2015

Spotted In Shops! - Cadbury Fingers Salted Peanut, Milkybar Milk & Cookies...

As many of you may have noticed I've been a bit quiet since Christmas...what can I say, life has been hectic recently! I did manage to find time to snap a few pics of some new products to hit the shelves for 2015 though, and here they are!...

Milkybar Milk & Cookies Sharing Block:

Nestlé have already done a Milk & Cookies Milkybar, way back in 2004, but it didn't last for long. Let's hope this large Sharing Block variety sticks around! Spotted in Asda. For a review of the US version see Grocery Gems post from 2012 here.

Cadbury Fingers Salted Peanut Crunch:

Apparently Cadbury are planning to launch a variety of new flavours for the Fingers range this year, and first up is Salted Peanut Crunch - an unusual flavour for us Brits, but I have it on good authority they taste pretty good! Spotted at Tesco.

Cadbury Fingers Salted Caramel Crunch:

The other new variety is Salted Caramel Crunch, which is a bit late to the "salted caramel" party (that was so 2014!). Still, better late than never Cadbury! Spotted at both Tesco and Morrisons. I wonder what other new flavours will join the range?

That's all for today's brief post... be sure to let me know if you see any new products in shops via Twitter or Email. I've heard rumors of the Cadbury Dairy Milk Crispies bar being resurrected...if you spot one please do let me know! As for Cadbury Creme Egg-gate...I won't be reviewing them as I stopped eating Creme Eggs a long time ago, thank goodness! 

Saturday, 20 December 2014

After Eight Finest Mint Selection Box Review


Whilst in Home Bargains the other day I saw they had these After Eight selections for only £1, so naturally I couldn't resist giving them a try - they usually cost £3 so this was a real bargain indeed!


I first tried these chocolates in the mid 90's when Nestlé brought them out one Christmas, for them to never be seen again. I don't know why they discontinued them, but they must be popular once again as they've been resurrected once more!


The selection contains individually wrapped mint creams in milk, dark and white chocolate. They're leaf-shaped rather than the traditional squares of After Eights. There weren't that many in the box so I don't think the RRP of £3 is really justified. £1 seemed a fair price.

There's not a lot to say about them really...they all taste very sweet and pleasant, with the traditional After Eight flavour. The white ones were the sweetest, with a milkier mint flavour, the milk choc ones a little less, and of course the dark ones were more richer. None of them were as good as the traditional square After Eights as there's a greater ratio of fondant to chocolate, making them much sweeter.

Overall, these are pleasant chocolates, but certainly not as good as regular After Eights. If you see them for a pound I would recommend giving them a try, but otherwise far better to stick to the regular version!

RATING: 7 out of 10.

Price: £1 at Home Bargains.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk. May contain nuts, egg, soya.
Nutrition (per 2 mints): 65 Calories, 3g Fat, 8.6g Carbs, 8.2g Sugar.
Recommend?: Only if you see them for £1, otherwise stick with regular After Eight.

Friday, 19 December 2014

Star Wars Roll'Ems: Solid Milk Chocolate Balls


Whilst in Asda recently I noticed these Star Wars themed chocolates in the kids sweet section. I bought them out of pure curiosity, but assumed they wouldn't taste very good. Luckily I was proven wrong and they actually tasted ok!


They're basic spheres of milk chocolate with a shellac glaze to make them shiny. The chocolate tastes pretty decent, with a nice milky flavour and melt, although it's certainly nothing spectacular. I'm not sure how they relate to Star Wars...maybe they're meant to be mini Death Stars?


Overall, for 50p these are an ok snack for kids and I'm sure they'll be very popular when the new Star Wars film is released. I bet they'll be popular with collectors too. As for the name "Roll'Ems", this is apparently because you can "shake, rattle and roll 'em" due to the shape. A bit of a tenuous link but there you go!

RATING: 7 out of 10.

Price: 50p at Asda.
Suitable for vegetarians?: Yes.
Allergy Information: Contains milk and soya. May contain traces of nuts and seeds.
Recommend?: Only for collectors.